SAQA NQF levels

The NQF consist of 10 levels divided into three bands; Levels 1 to 4 equate to high school grades 9 to 12 or vocational training, 5 to 7 are college diplomas and technical qualifications, 7 to 10 are university degrees.

NQF levels is a matric certificate qualification. You could earn your matric certificate by completing your matric final exams. If you can’t complete your matric, there are national and FET certificates equivalent to it.

1Grade 9
2Grade 10 and National (vocational) Certificates level 2
3Grade 11 and National (vocational) Certificates level 3
4Grade 12 (National Senior Certificate) and National (vocational) Cert. level 4
5Higher Certificates and Advanced National (vocational) Cert.
6National Diploma and Advanced certificates
7Bachelor’s degree, Advanced Diplomas, Post Graduate Certificate and B-tech
8Honours degree, Post Graduate diploma and Professional Qualifications
9Master’s degree
10Doctor’s degree