SAQA Levels

The NQF consist of 10 levels divided into three bands; Levels 1 to 4 equate to high school grades 9 to 12 or vocational training, 5 to 7 are college diplomas and technical qualifications, 7 to 10 are university degrees.

1Grade 9
2Grade 10 and National (vocational) Certificates level 2
3Grade 11 and National (vocational) Certificates level 3
4Grade 12 (National Senior Certificate) and National (vocational) Cert. level 4
5Higher Certificates and Advanced National (vocational) Cert.
6National Diploma and Advanced certificates
7Bachelor’s degree, Advanced Diplomas, Post Graduate Certificate and B-tech
8Honours degree, Post Graduate diploma and Professional Qualifications
9Master’s degree
10Doctor’s degree