NSFAS Funding Application 2022/2023

NSFAS has opened their 2022/2023 funding Application for interested applicants to apply before the METRIC results are released.

CLOSING DATE: 7 January 2022

Funding is open for tertiary studies at public universities or TVET colleges in South Africa (it does NOT cover private institutions). Funding is available to students who are in need of financial assistance to start or continue with their studies.

When applying, students will be split into 5 separate cohorts, namely:
Cohort 1: First-Time Entering Student (FTEN) who is a SASSA beneficiary
Cohort 2: Returning Student, who is SASSA beneficiary
Cohort 3: First-Time Entering Student who is NOT a SASSA beneficiary
Cohort 4: Returning Student, who is NOT a SASSA beneficiary
Cohort 5: Student living with disability

Bursary Requirements on NSFAS Funding Application 2022/2023:

  • You must be a South African citizen or a South African permanent resident
  • You must be studying or intend on studying a public tertiary institution within South Africa (University or TVET College)
  • You must fall in to 1 or more of these categories:
    • 1) You must be a SASSA grant recipient (excluding the SASSA COVID-19 grant)
    • 2) You must have a total combined household income is NOT more than R350 000 per annum
    • 3) You must be living with a disability AND have a total combined household income NOT more than R600 000 per annum

Bursary Coverage:

NSFAS funding will cover the following fees:

  • registration fees,
  • tuition fees,
  • study material expenses,
  • food allowance,
  • incidental/ personal care,
  • as well as accommodation or transport.

Students living with disabilities will also receive Assistive Devices (such as wheelchairs, hearing aids, adapted laptops, etc.) and Human Support (careers, scribes, tutors, sign language interpreters, etc.). The cover amount will be reviewed by NSFAS each year.

Method of Application:

Applications can be done in either of the following ways:

1) Online:
Visit the official NSFAS website
Navigate to the myNSFAS tab
Select the Register an account tab
Upload your supporting documents (per the list below) and then click “submit”
After submitting your application, you will receive a reference number on the screen – it will also be sent to your email address and cellphone number – keep a note of this reference number.

2) In person at your nearest National Youth Development Agency (NYDA) or Thusong Centre.
You will need to have copies of the supporting documents below with you when applying.


All applicants will be required to submit the following supporting documents when applying – please ensure that you have these documents ready before submitting your application (note that no applications will be accepted without these documents):

  • South African ID document (this can include any of the following):
    • copy of green ID document
    • temporary ID from the DHA
    • copy of both side of Smart ID card
    • unbridged birth certificate
  • Non-SASSA grant applicants: Parents, guardians or spouse ID documents (copies only)
  • Own, parents, guardians or spouse proof of income, if a non-SASSA applicant (this can include any of the following):
    • latest payslip if employed (not older 3 months)
    • UIF letter
    • employment letter
    • retrenchment letter, if a non-SASSA applicant
  • Students with disabilities: complete and sign the Disability Annexure A Form (.pdf)
  • Students who are recognised as a Vulnerable Child by the Department of Social Development: complete and sign the Vulnerable Child Declaration Form (.pdf)


Students who are studying (or will be studying) at any of these 25 public universities or 50 TVET Colleges, in 2022, may apply:

  • Cape Peninsula University of Technology
  • Central University of Technology
  • Durban University of Technology
  • Monash University
  • Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
  • North West University
  • Rhodes University
  • Stellenbosch University
  • Tshwane University of Technology
  • University of Cape Town
  • University of Fort Hare
  • University of Johannesburg
  • University of Kwazulu Natal
  • University of Limpopo
  • University of Pretoria
  • University of South Africa
  • University of the Free State
  • University of the Western Cape
  • University of the Witwatersrand
  • University of Zululand
  • Vaal University of Technology
  • Walter Sisulu University

TVET Colleges:

  • Boland College
  • Buffalo City College
  • Capricorn College
  • Central Johannesburg College
  • Coastal KZN College
  • College of Cape Town
  • Eastcape Midlands College
  • Ehlanzeni College
  • Ekurhuleni East College
  • Elangemi College
  • Esayidi College
  • Ethekwini College
  • False Bay College
  • Gert Sibande College
  • Ikhala College
  • Ingwe College
  • King Hintsa College
  • King Sabata Dalindyebo College
  • Letaba College
  • Liphalale College
  • Lovedale College
  • Majuba College
  • Mnambithi College
  • Nkangala College
  • Northern Cape Rural College
  • Northern Cape Urban College
  • Northlink College
  • Orbit College
  • Port Elizabeth College
  • Sekhukhune College
  • South Cape College
  • South West Gauteng College
  • Tshwane North College
  • Tshwane South College
  • Umfolozi College
  • Umgungundlovu College
  • Vhembe College
  • Vuselela College
  • Waterberg College
  • West Coast College