North West Provincial Government Bursary South Africa 2021 – 2022

The North West Provincial Government is one of the departments of the South African government. The Office of the Premier department is responsible for providing leadership for efficient, coordinated and integrated service delivery that will enable the growth and development of the province and its residents.

The other departments of the North West Provincial Government include: Health; Public Works and Roads; Rural, Environment and Agricultural Development; Local Government and Human Settlements; Education and Sports Development; Community Safety and Transport Management; Finance, Economy and Entreprise Development; Tourism; Social Development; Culture, Arts and Traditional Affairs


The North West Provincial Government will be awarding bursaries within the following fields of study (degree or diploma studies):

  • Education
  • Tourism
  • Agriculture
  • Culture & Arts
  • Accounting
  • Finance
  • Commerce
  • Construction
  • Building and Roads
  • Mining Engineering
  • Other Engineering sectors
  • Health related sectors
  • Aviation
  • Law
  • Mathematics
  • Sciences
  • Technology

Shortlisted candidates will be contacted, should you not receive any feedback within 4 months of the application deadline, please regard your application as unsuccessful.


Applicants must satisfy the following minimum entry criteria before applying (please note that failure to satisfy all the requirements will lead to your application not being considered):

  • South African citizen
  • Reside within the North West province
  • 35 years old or younger
  • Completed Matric OR currently in Matric
  • Studying or intend on studying full-time within one of the aforementioned fields of study
  • Studying or intend on studying at a recognized tertiary institution
  • Unemployed
  • Proven financial need
  • Good academic record


Download and complete the North West Provincial Gov Bursary Application Form (.pdf)

Alternatively, you can collect an application form at one of these Offices/ Distribution Centers:

  • Office of the Premier: Bursary Offices (Ga-Rona Building, Ground Floor, Dr James Moroka Drive, Mmabatho)
  • District and Local Municipalities
  • Labour Centres
  • High Schools
  • Traditional Authority Offices
  • 45 Harrington Street, Brits, 0250
  • Mabe Business Park, Bojanala, Rustenburg, North West, 0299 (Opposite NW FM)
  • Dr Ruth Segomotsi Mompati: Vryburg Mini-Garona Building, North St & Molopo Straat, Vryburg, 8601
  • Dr Kenneth Kaunda: 309 West end Centre, Leask Street, Klerksdorp, 2571

Submit clear copies of the following supporting documentation along with your completed application form (the submission of these documents is compulsory – if any items are missing, your application be disregarded):

  • ID document (certified copy)
  • Matric latest results, if currently in Matric (certified copy)
  • Matric certificate, if completed Matric (certified copy) (if not yet available, must be submitted by 10 January 2021, to:
  • Latest academic record, if at tertiary level (certified copy) (if not yet available, must be submitted by 10 January 2021, to:
  • Proof of University acceptance (certified copy) (if not yet available, must be submitted by 10 January 2021, to:
  • Proof of residence (letter from Municipality Office if residing in town/ farm/ township, letter from Traditional Authority if residing in a village)
  • Parents/ guardians proof of income (latest payslips if employed/ affidavit if unemployed/ pension statements if on state pension/ death certificate if deceased)
  • Proof of disability if disabled (doctors letter/ medical record)

Applications must be submitted to:
Office of the Premier
Ground Floor
Ga-Rona Building: Bursaries Offices

OR to one of the Distribution centres/ Offices listed above


11 January 2021.
(Applications submitted after this date will not be accepted – please apply before the closing date to ensure your application is considered.)


For any queries related to this bursary programme, please contact the North West Provincial Government directly:
Office of the Premier
Contact Person: Ms Bonolo Mohlakoana (Acting Head of Communication)
Cell: 082 901 2435
Tel: 018 388 3705/ 018 388 1212/ 018 388 1207/ 018 388 1259/ 018 388 1308/ 018 388 1510
Email: /