How is TV license paid?

In South Africa, all households and businesses that own or use a television set are required to have a valid TV license. The TV license fee is payable annually and helps to fund the South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC), which provides free-to-air television and radio services to the country.

There are a number of ways to pay your TV license in South Africa, including:

  • Online: You can pay your TV license online using your credit or debit card.
  • At the bank: You can pay your TV license at any bank branch in South Africa.
  • At a post office: You can pay your TV license at any post office in South Africa.
  • At a retailer: You can pay your TV license at a number of retailers in South Africa, including Pick n Pay, Shoprite, and Checkers.
  • By debit order: You can set up a debit order to pay your TV license fee automatically each month.

Payment options

First-time applicants for a TV license must pay the full annual fee of R265. Renewals must be made annually before the licence expires. Renewal payments may be spread throughout the year at R28 per month. Monthly payments are subject to a small premium for the convenience.

Penalties for non-payment

If you fail to pay your TV license fee, you may be liable for a penalty of up to 100% of the annual fee. You may also be prosecuted and fined.

How to apply for a TV license

To apply for a TV license, you can visit the SABC website or contact the SABC call center at 011 330 9555.

Benefits of having a TV license

In addition to helping to fund the SABC, having a TV license also gives you access to a number of benefits, including:

  • Access to the full range of SABC TV channels, including SABC 1, SABC 2, SABC 3, and SABC News.
  • Access to the SABC’s online streaming service, SABC+.
  • Access to the SABC’s educational resources, such as the SABC Learning Platform.
  • Protection from prosecution for owning or using a television set without a valid license.